Wordles are my Favorite

Bellingham Review recently published my short story, “Missing Person: Female, Fifteen” in their Issue 63. So I made a Wordle to show you what it’s “about”:

Wordles. They’re great, aren’t they? I love how they highlight oft-used words and create fascinating combinations of  language. This one looks like a collection of cut-and-pasted headlines, and that’s appropriate, because the story is partly woven through and around a fictional newspaper headline. Within the arrangement, here are some headlines I love:

“Girl cooks. Mother burns body.”

“Music wife missing”

“Man envisions purple”

“Loud art breaking”

“Rooms grow”

“Father undresses wants”

“Pain shadows girl”

From now on, when someone asks what I write about, I will use a variation of one of these things. “It’s about loud art breaking.” Done.  Thank you, Wordle.

Doesn’t this wordle totally make you want to read the story?

  Read an excerpt on this website, and then

Email bhreview@wwu.edu to purchase a copy!

4 responses to “Wordles are my Favorite

  1. Congratulations, Brittany! I just read the excerpt and loved the rhythm/flow of your language, and the teaser was definitely gripping. Thanks for sharing Wordles, too – I’m intrigued and will have to play with those sometime. Glad to have found you via She Writes, and many congratulations on your publication.

  2. Now I need to learn how to wordle! I read the except and I really do want to read the rest. Can I get the Bellingham Review in Scotland, I wonder? Only one way to find out…

    • If you google “wordle”, that should do it. And thank you so much for wanting to read it! I guess they would deliver to Scotland…that’s sweet of you.

Leave a Reply

