Continued Conversations

A Post from Bashful Radical

Browsing blogs the other day, I probably should have found this earlier: Bashful Radical’s response and musing to my post on “real” writers vs. bloggers. These conversations continue – interesting how thinking about handwriting versus typed print or published blogging seems to have prompted her to consider writing off the internet entirely. The benefits of each are hard to weigh – the privacy of handwritten print and the ability to draft more thoroughly, or the availability of a large audience (even community) and the pleasure of instant publication. I note that I could have sent her a private message about it instead of reposting it on my own blog…but her thoughts are too insightful. Take a brief moment to read this post.

Real writers, real writing implements, ruminations

Posted on June 17, 2010 by notesfromabashfulradical

I was pondering B. L. Goss’ musings on ‘real writers’  as I started writing the old fashioned way, by pen and paper.  What she writes is true, writing before the internet meant more privacy, no blogs, writers wrote for their friends and lovers in letters, or in private diaries.  Public was published, only.  Also, inspired by an interview with B about my own blogs, why I blog, the nature of it, and all of her writing on the subject as well as my new attempt at writing away from the computer led me to the realisation that writing with pen and paper is inherently private.  It is a nuisance to transfer everything to the computer–not only because my own handwriting is closer to scribbles than words, but also because of the strange emotional investment in the sort of re-writing required in transcribing.  I’m wondering if I should switch almost entirely.  Wrote a long segment on trust and the subaltern subject’s relations with the standard, and realising that I prefer it as it is, on paper, handheld, private, yes…

Read the rest of her post here.

Leave a Reply

